Internet Acronyms

I can’t keep up!

I sometimes grow tired of looking up internet acronyms to determine their meaning. And there are new acronyms being added daily. I can’t keep up!

One time at 2 a.m. and bleary-eyed, I read GTFO (Get The F*ck Out) as GTO (The Car) and it gave an entirely different meaning to what I just read. I also feel many acronyms are becoming passé and overused to the point of becoming insincere or meaningless.

Given my tendency to typing laziness, I’m thinking a new, one word catch-all phrase would be all that’s needed instead. It’s one that my wife uses, the phrase is “Oooooooooooo.” It isn’t a phrase she uses when she is looking at me (those days are long gone, alas!) but only when she sees good food!

The more o’s added to Oooooooooooo, the more emotion or excitement it indicates. Oooooooooooo could easily replace LOL, LMAO, GR8, FUD, and etc. Perhaps “Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah” would be good also. What do you think?

I wrote this piece while a Victoria’s Secret fashion show was playing on TV. But that didn’t influence me at all in writing this story, I promise. Oooooooooooooooooo!

--

--

Hank Eng, 1950 - 2023, https://gofund.me/7c8969da

Retired from the Aerospace Industry. I write Satire, Humor, and Funny stories. about the absurd things in life. medium.com/metaphorically